早年创业

1949年圣诞节,陈江和出生于印尼苏门达腊棉兰市,父母是来自中国莆田的华人作为7兄弟中的老大,陈江和在华文学校接受教育,从未正式学过印尼语(尽管他现在印尼语很流利).1966年,年仅17岁的陈江和在毕业前离开了高中,去帮父亲经营位于棉兰市的小店铺,这个小店只有3个人,主要为石油公司供应零配件.

作为家中的长子,年轻的陈江和接过父亲的生意慢慢地,他将业务从零售扩展到为跨国公司修建天然气管道1972年石油危机爆发,石油价格由于中东原油禁运而暴涨,业务不断飙升,陈江和人生的“第一桶金”就这样降临了.

在一次去台湾访问时,陈江和注意到印尼的森林行业都在出口原木,被加工成夹板以高昂的价格再返销到了印尼他相信可以在印尼本地加工原木1973年,他成立了金鹰(RGM)公司,在获得政府许可后,进入到夹板行业,夹板工厂用了10个月就完工了,比预计时间提前了4个月.

取得这一成功之后,他作为实干家的名声越来越大,印尼政府由于其经济发展目标包括油棕业,请求他进入棕榈油产业他迅速建立起从种植园到精炼厂的一体化棕榈油业务.

随着业务的不断扩大,陈江和及夫人也开始开展企业社会责任项目,建设幼儿园和学校,初衷是为员工子女提供,但最终为工厂所在的整个社区服务.

业务发展

陈江和的下一个业务飞跃是在1988年,他在印尼苏门达腊Toba湖附近建立了种植园和工厂,来生产纸浆和溶解浆.

随后,亚太资源集团于1994年成立,在印尼苏门达腊科林奇建设种植园和浆纸厂,成为陈江和的旗舰业务.

1995年,纸浆开始商业生产,两年后,第二条生产线开始建设.

随着业务的不断扩展,陈江和意识到要想成为具有全球视野的的企业家,必须学会英语在这样的决心推动下,他开始一字一句地学习英语,通过英汉字典阅读三本英文杂志——《生活》,《读者文摘》和《新闻周刊》.

陈江和还认识到现代企业管理的必要性他来到世界顶级大学,如欧洲工商管理学院,哈佛,沃顿等参加管理课程,继续深造.

亚洲金融危机

1997年,像亚洲大多数企业一样,金鹰旗下企业也在金融危机遭受严重打击这次空前严重的危机导致银行倒闭,公司破产,政府倒台,成千上万的人失去了工作.

对于亚太资源集团来说,工厂尚未完全竣工投产,由于通货膨胀的原因,负债涨了50%为了建成工厂,陈江和卖掉了其它资产,重组了债务与同时期相当多一批企业不同的是,他没有逃避任何责任,不折不扣地履行了所有财务承诺.

陈江和从这次金融危机学到的最重要的一个经验就是,要履行企业社会责任.

“你必须要照顾你的人,不仅是指你的员工,还包括周边的社区”他说:“这不仅是通过建学校使人们受教育人们要吃饭,必须生存下去所以当政府不能满足他们的需求时,你就可以介入.

“发展业务的同时应该遵循利民、利国、利业的三利原则,要三条腿走路才不会摔倒

在危机最严重的时候,亚太资源集团成立了社区发展中心委员会,开展社区发展项目,该项目目前已取得极大成功,改善了千百万人的生活。该项目包括综合农耕体系,培训村民如何以可持续的方式种植农作物,如何饲养牲畜,如何淡水养鱼,堆肥和垃圾回收集团给农民们提供初始援助包括牛和/或鱼、种子,以及必要的培训和技术支持,使他们远离破坏性的刀耕火种的农业方式,提高了收入水平.

恢复发展

亚洲金融危机结束后,陈江和在科林奇的工厂完工,并开始寻找新的发展机会.

在新千年来临时,他开始向一个新的行业进军,成立了太平洋油气有限公司.它最初的业务包括在印尼苏门答腊进行石油的勘探和生产今天,它的业务扩展到在印尼开发天然气资源和在中国开发液化天然气接收站和燃气电厂.

2003年,陈江和先生收购了巴西的两家公司——一家溶解木浆厂和一个种植公司通过整合他们的业务,并在中国九江建立了首家外商独资的粘胶纤维厂,他建立了赛得利控股有限公司,进入了特种纤维素行业.

溶解木浆和粘胶纤维,这些原材料是我们日常生活用品中不可或缺的重要元素,包括化妆品、食品、纺织品、婴儿湿纸巾;尿布、药品、牙膏、洗涤剂、洗发香波和油漆等.

2008年,巴伊亚工厂的设计产能翻了一番,扩展到年产46.5万吨溶解浆,这使赛得利成为行业内能提供广泛的溶解木浆的供应商.

在中国,陈江和通过收购森博公司进一步扩大了业务,这是一家位于中国日照的纸浆厂,森博并入亚太资源集团,通过扩建产能提高到了100万吨以上.

随着业务的扩大,陈江和意识到要想更有效地实施企业社会责任和慈善活动需要一个更加战略性的组织基础由此,2001年陈江和基金会正式成立,负责处理慈善捐赠和家族的社会活动.

如需了解更多关于陈江和基金会的信息,请点击这里

Sukanto Tanoto Website

Sukanto Tanoto is a visionary entrepreneur and philanthropist. He is the Founder and Chairman of Royal Golden Eagle (RGE), which manages a global group of companies in resources manufacturing. Tanoto is also the co-founder of Tanoto Foundation, a philanthropy that aims to improve lives by alleviating poverty.

Sukanto Tanoto

Sukanto Tanoto - His Journey

The Early Years

Sukanto Tanoto was born in Indonesia in the Sumatran city of Medan on Christmas Day in 1949 to a migrant couple from Putien, Fujian Province in China. The eldest of seven boys, Mr. Tanoto was educated in a Chinese school and never learnt Bahasa Indonesia formally (though he is now fluent in the language). In 1966, at the age of 17 he left high school before graduating to join his father who was then running a three-man firm in Medan and supplying spare parts to oil and gas companies.

Young Sukanto took over his father's business as the eldest son of the family. Gradually, Sukanto built up the business and moved it beyond trading to building gas pipelines for multinationals. The business took off during the 1972 oil crisis, when oil prices surged following the first Middle East oil embargo.

During a visit to Taiwan, Mr. Tanoto realized that Indonesia was exporting logs to be converted to plywood and then importing the finished product back at higher costs. He believed that he could process the logs locally. In 1973, he set up RGM and entered the plywood business after convincing the government to give him a permit required to build a plywood factory. The factory was completed within 10 months - more than four months ahead of schedule.

Following this success and his growing reputation as someone who could make things happen, the Indonesian government, whose economic development objective included the oil palm sector, requested he enter the palm oil industry where he quickly established a fully integrated operation from plantations to refineries.

As Sukanto Tanoto’s operations grew, he and his wife also started to become involved in the social responsibility side of business, building kindergartens and schools, initially for his employees but eventually for the communities in which the company operated.

Growing the Business

Mr. Tanoto’s next business foray was in 1988 when he established plantations and a manufacturing plant near Lake Toba in Sumatra, Indonesia, to produce paper pulp and dissolving pulp.

This was followed in 1994 with the formation of APRIL (Asia Pacific Resources International Limited), Mr. Tanoto’s flagship pulp and paper business, with plantations and pulp and paper mills in Kerinci, Sumatra, Indonesia.

By 1995, commercial production of pulp had begun and two years later, construction of a second pulp line was underway.

As he expanded his business, Mr. Tanoto realised that if he was to become a global player he needed English language skills. This determination motivated him to learn English word-by-word, using a Chinese-English dictionary while reading three magazines - Life, Reader's Digest and Newsweek.

Sukanto Tanoto also recognised that understanding modern business management was essential. Accordingly, he resumed his formal education, attending courses at such prestigious schools as INSEAD, Harvard, Wharton, and Carnegie Mellon.

The Asian Financial Crisis

In 1997, the business, like nearly all operations in Asia, was hit hard by the Asian Financial Crisis. It was a crisis of unparalleled severity, bankrupting companies, causing bank closures and bringing down governments as well as throwing tens of thousands of people out of work.

In the case of APRIL, the mill was not yet fully operational and borrowings ballooned by 50% as currency fluctuations increased the amount owed. To complete the mill, Mr. Tanoto sold off some assets and reorganised his debt. Unlike a number of other businessmen of the era, he did not walk away from any obligations and met all his financial commitments without receiving any discounts.

One of the most valuable lessons Sukanto Tanoto learned from the Asian Financial Crisis was the need for corporate social responsibility (CSR).

“You have to look after your people. That does not just mean your employees. It includes the community,” he said. “It is not just a matter of educating people by building schools. People have to eat, they have to survive. So when governments cannot meet their needs, you have to step in.

“You have to operate on the basis of being good for the people, good for the community and good for the company. You need all three legs of the stool otherwise it falls over.”

During the height of the crisis, APRIL established a Community Development committee and started what has become a highly successful program to improve people’s lives. Its Integrated Farming Scheme teaches villagers how to farm on a sustainable basis. It integrates horticulture with raising livestock, freshwater fish farming, composting and waste recycling. Farmers are provided with start-up assistance including cattle and/or fish and seeds as well as the necessary training and technical assistance to move away from destructive slash-and-burn agriculture and improve their incomes.

Resuming Growth

As the Asian Crisis receded, Mr. Tanoto completed the APRIL mill in Kerinci and looked around for further opportunities.

The new millennium saw a move into the energy resources sector with the establishment of Pacific Oil & Gas (PO&G). Its initial operations involved oil exploration and production blocks off the coast of Sumatra., Indonesia. Today, its operations also include development of natural gas fields in Indonesia as well as LNG receiving terminals and large-scale Combined Cycle Gas Turbine power plants in China.

In 2003, Mr Tanoto acquired two companies in Brazil – a dissolving wood pulp mill and a plantation company. By integrating their operations while also building the first wholly foreign owned viscose staple fiber mill in Jiujiang, China, he established Sateri Holdings Limited as a new force in the specialty cellulose industry.

Dissolving wood pulp and viscose staple fiber, produced from renewable and sustainable plantations, is used in an extensive range of end-products such as cosmetics, foods, textiles, baby and facial wipes, nappies (diapers), pharmaceuticals, toothpaste, detergents, shampoos and paints.

In 2008, the design capacity of the Brazilian mill was more than doubled to 465,000 tonnes per annum of dissolving wood pulp and its products expanded to make Sateri the supplier of the broadest range of dissolving wood pulp in the industry.

In China, Mr. Tanoto further extended his operations through the acquisition of 90% of SSYMB, a pulp and paperboard mill in Rizhao and its incorporation into APRIL. Subsequently its capacity has been increased to more than one million tonnes of pulp with plantations established to provide fiber.

While growing his business, Mr. Tanoto also reorganised his approach to CSR and philanthropy recognising that this needed to be carried out on a more strategic basis if it was to remain effective. Accordingly, in 2001 the Tanoto Foundation was founded to coordinate the philanthropic giving and social work of the family.

For further information about Sukanto Tanoto’s businesses and the Tanoto Foundation, click here or on the links above.